2011 CFDA Award Nominees & Honorees

Mar 16, 2011 By Amy

Just a short while ago CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg along with Steven Kolb (CFDA executive director), announced the 2011 CFDA Award nominees and honorees! Over at MyFDB headquarters we were excited to hear that some of our favorite designers be mentioned. I was surprised to hear that Marc Jacobs will be honored with a “Lifetime Achievement Award”- even though he hardly seems that old, the forty-seven year-old designer has made quite the name for himself.  Also, kudos to Lady Gaga, who will be honored with the “Fashion Icon Award” for her signature style and influence.

See who else is up for an award or being honored:

Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Alexander Wang
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year:
Michael Bastian
Patrik Ervell
Simon Spurr

Accessory Designer of the Year:
Alexander Wang
Jack McColloughLazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:
Joseph Altuzarra
Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen
Prabal Gurung

Swarovski Award for Menswear:
Alexander Wang
Phillip Lim
Robert Geller

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:
Alejandro Ingelmo
Eddie Borgo
Jason Wu
Pamela Love


Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:
Marc Jacobs

The Media Award
Hilary Alexander, The Telegraph UK

International Award: Awarded to a designer working outside of America who has made an outstanding creative contribution to the world of fashion.
Phoebe Philo for Celine

Fashion Icon Award:
Lady Gaga

The Founders Award: Given in memory of the CFDA’s founder Eleanor Lambert, the Founders Award is given to a person who has made a unique contribution to the world of fashion (and/or deserves the industry’s recognition and does not fall under any existing award categories).
Hal Rubenstein, InStyle

Board of Directors’ Special Tribute: A special tribute by the Board of Directors of the CFDA, given from time to time to acknowledge significant contributions and commitment to fashion.
Arthur Elgort

Congrats to all! We think the nominees and honorees are all quite fabulous!

Similar posts:

Category: Design, Events, Fashion, headlines

Tagged: , , , , , ,



Sign up for the MyFDBlog Recap

More Fashion & Style News from our Network