Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen are Womenswear Designers of the Year for The Row

Jun 5, 2012 By Lauren Valenti

The loveable and uber-chic Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen have shown yet again that they are a duo to be reckoned with. Last night, the pair snagged the coveted Womenswear Designer of the Year Award at the CFDA Fashion awards for their label, The Row. They are in good company as past winners include the boys of Proenza Schouler- Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, Marc Jacobs,  Kat and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, Altuzurra, and Alexander Wang.

As if their keen eye for effortless silhouette and their contemporary design sense wasn’t enough, the honor certainly intensifies their fashion authority in the industry. Other evening highlights include Johnny Depp’s award for Fashion Icon and Philip Lim’s Award for Emerging Menswear Talent. Billy Reid deservedly received the title of Menswear Designer of the Year.

Another milestone for the awards comes this year as for the first time ever, The 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards will be available for all to see, today at noon EST on Style.com. CFDA has been celebrating the broadcast with photo sneak peaks and will continue with highlights and bonus material after the broadcast. According to the CFDA itself, the actual digital broadcast  “will feature the awards ceremony from red carpet highlights and interviews through the final bow of the night. Style.com’s Tim Blanks will serve as the red carpet host speaking with some of the most influential names in fashion, entertainment, sports, and music. In addition to acceptance speeches and short films, this year’s Awards will include several special live moments paying tribute to the CFDA’s legacy.”

Steven Kolb, CEO of the CFDA said, “We are thrilled to be able to share American fashion’s biggest night with the public for the first time and to be working with Style.com on this incredible project. This is an amazing opportunity to expand our audience as we open this exclusive industry event to fashion lovers around the world. It is not to be missed. Tune in and watch as we celebrate this year’s winners.”

The winners for all of the awards for this year are as follows:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: The Row
Menswear Designer of the Year: Billy Reid
Accessories Designer of the Year: Reed Krakoff
Swarovski Award For Emerging Talent in Womenswear Design: Joseph Altuzarra
Swarovski Award For Emerging Talent in Menswear Design: Phillip Lim
Swarovski Award For Emerging Talent in Accessory Design: Tabitha Simmons
CFDA Media Award: Garance Doré, Scott Schuman
International Award: Rei Kawakubo–Commes des Garcons
Founders Award: Andrew Rosen
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger
Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp

By: Sarah Humphries

Photos: Styleite, The Front Row View

Similar posts:

Category: Events, Fashion, headlines

Tagged: , ,

  • https://www.3suisses.ro/ro/ Nicole_gamble

    Love those two! They are amazing!

  • https://www.thediarymad.com/ Alanc230

    Give me a break. I have a hard time believing that these girls could design anything more complex than a paper bag. 



Sign up for the MyFDBlog Recap

More Fashion & Style News from our Network